The 20th Grey College OMS athletics meet took place at the Free State Athletics stadium, in a cold and wet Bloemfontein over the past weekend.

  • 7 of South-Africa’s 9 provinces participated in this meet.
  • 26 Schools and almost 1000 athletes participated.
  • 11 new records were set. (This is proof of the standard of the meeting).

The top junior athletes are both from Grey College.

The award for the “Best junior field athlete” went to DJ Liebenberg (u15). Not only was he the best junior field athlete, but he was also the recipient of the “Best boys athlete” award at the event!

His 1st place in the shot put with a distance of 17,82m earned him 931 points! The second highest in the meet, with only Elaine Pretorius from Fichardt Park who scored 964 points for hammer throw.

He also took gold in the discus with a distance of 57,45m, earning him 911 points and an11th place in the top 50 with.

The award for the best track athlete went to none other than Lucky Moleyane (u15).
This talented boy ran an amazing 200m. He just missed the record of 21,60 with his time of 21,95 sec. He also won the 100m with a time of 10,91). (Record is 10,60).

Accept for DJ and Lucky, two other boys ended under the top 50 athletes.

In 21st place, FC du Plessis (u17) in the 110m hurdles in a time of 14,16 sec. (892 points) and in 35th place, Wicus Vosloo (u17) in the 110m hurdles in a time of 14,36 sec. (871 points).

The following boys received more than 750 points:

Aaron Alvarez Aranda (u14)
Hammer throw, 1st place with a distance of 44,33m.
Shot put, 2nd place with 15,75m.
Discus throw, 1st place with 51,76m.

Tat Botha (u14)
Shot put, 1st place with 16,01m
Discus throw, 2nd place with 49,41m.

Janco Scheepers (u14)
100m, 1st place in 11,78 sec.

Jean-Marc Trichard (u15)
300m hurdles, 3rd place in 14,54 sec.

Lian van der Merwe (u15)
100m hurdles, 2nd place in 14,11 sec.

Tielman Nieuwoudt (u16)
Shot put, 1st place with 16,76m

Delport Botha (u16)
800m, 2nd place in 01:55.19 minutes.

Dirkie Engelbrecht (u16)

100m, 5th place in 11.23sec.
200m, 8th place with 23,10sec.


GreyOMS1: Old Grey, Rynardt van Rensburg and Lucky Moleyane.

DJ Liebenberg
Tat Botha
Wicus Vosloo
And others.


Participating schools: (1) Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool,  Pretoria;

(2) Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool, Pretoria;

(3) Bloemhof Hoër Meisieskool;

(4) Hoërskool Diamantveld, Kimberley

(5) Hoërskool Duineveld, Upington

(6) Eunice High School

(7) Ferrum High School, Newcastle

(8) Hoërskool Fichardtpark

(9) Framesby High School, Port Elizabeth

(10) Grey Kollege

(11) HTS Louis Botha

(12) Hoërskool Jim Fouché

(13) Hoërskool Linden, Randburg

(14) Hoërskool Martin Oosthuizen, Kakamas

(15) Hoërskool Menlopark, Pretoria

(16) C & N Meiskool Oranje

(17) Hoërskool Pearson, Port Elizabeth

(18) Petunia Secondary School

(19) Pietermaritzburg Uitnodigingspan

(20) Pretoria Boys High

(21) Pretoria Girls High

(22) Hoërskool Sentraal

(23) Hoërskool Standerton

(24) Victoria Park High School, Port Elizabeth

(25) Hoërskool Waterkloof, Pretoria

(26)  Hoërskool Lichtenburg