The Free State Cricket Union once again paid tribute to all our local cricketers ‘Stars of Tomorrow’ with our annual Awards Ceremony that were held at Protea Hotel Central Bloemfontein last night.

At this glamorous affair we recognize hard work and dedication of individuals that drive the passion for cricket. The vision of Free State Cricket Union are to be the leading role-player in South African Cricket by promoting, enhancing and developing cricket as the peoples game in the Free State in a responsible and financially viable manner by optimizing all our resources. The evening was a celebration to honour our players, coaches, administrators for growing the FSCU vision. Congratulations go out to all the award winners. Your successes are well deserved and will serve as an inspiration to those who will follow you in the years ahead. Our thanks and appreciation to all our sponsors and commercial partners and special appreciation to official event sponsor for the evening ‘Protea Hotel Central Bloemfontein’ for their continued support.

 Free State Cricket Union award winners for Season 2014/2015 are:

Mini Cricket Administrator of the Year

From Toka Primary School. Coach and regional vice chairperson in Rocklands Mini Cricket. Oversees 14 schools. School supplied FS HUB structure with 15 players from Mini Cricket program.

  1. J. M. Malebo

Under 13 Player of the Year
All-rounder scored 296 runs for FS U/13 team that included a 108 against Griquas during preparation matches. He also took 8 wickets at National Week and featured in the top 10 batters at the week.  Pheko Moletsane

Under 15 Player of the Year
Leading run scorer for the FS U/15 team. He top scored in most games and ended the week with an impressive ton against KZN Inland. He gets this award for the second consecutive year.  Christopher Schreuder

Under 17 Player of the Year
His performance at the U/17 week, earned him a place on the Knights CUBS team. He was by far our most consistent performer scoring 176 runs at the week and picking up 9 wickets.  Neil Durow

Under 17 Rural Cricket Player of the Year
Averaged 38 with the bat at U/17 Rural Cricket week. His performances earned him a spot in the SA U/17 Rural Cricket team.  Mothapisi Seetsi

Under 19 Player of the Year
He took 10 wickets at the National week and was rewarded for his efforts with a place in the SA Schools team. He also captained the SA U/17 team at the CUBS week and was selected for the SA U/19 team that will tour Bangladesh.  Sean Whitehead

Under 19 Girls Player of the Year
Scored 411 runs in 8 innings with a batting average of 58.71, she took 6 wickets of 148 balls for 137 runs with a strike rate of 24 and economy rate of 5.61 runs per over. She was also selected for the Girls U/19 National Squad.  Izel Cilliers

LSEN Player of the Year
Fourth year playing for FS LSEN.

Captain of the team and a very good fielder.  Jerome Koekemoer

Best Performing Team of the Year

Played in the final of the CSA Provincial 50-Over competition.
Ended second in the CSA Sunfoil Provincial 3-Day Cup.  Senior Provincial Team

Best Performing Centre of Excellence of the Year
Best centre by producing more players for all different groups respectively to represent Free State. U/11 4 players, U/13 4 players, U/15 1 player, U/17 3 players and U/19 1 player.  Kroonstad Centre of Excellence

Differently Abled Cricketer of the Year
Played a pivotal role in the Proteas World Cup team in all three disciplines of the game namely batting, bowling and fielding. He played in two Blind Cricket World Cup in India and the second one in South frica in 2014.  Tefo Klaasen

Rural Cricketer of the Year
He scored over 200 runs during the week and took 4 wickets in the National Rural Tournament.  Marius Swart

Scorer of the Year
Started scoring the beginning of Season 2014/2015 and learned quickly.
Went from level D to Level B scorer in one season.
Also scored at Under 17 week in December 2014.  Billa Benade

Umpire Newcomer of the Year
He started Umpiring Season 2014/2015. He umpired in Premier League matches. All the reports received shows a person with ability to become a great umpire.  Adrian Field

Umpire of the Year
Exceptional performance at the CCKM week where she umpired SA Colts vs. Northern Invitation XI.

Appointed to 1st Varsity Cup where she umpired 2 TV matches, which included the semi-final.  Carin van Deventer

Affiliate / Associate of the Year Operations
Proactive and initiatives towards development and expanding our Cricket base. This supports the Presidential Plan of CSA 100%  Cricket Eastern Free State

Free State Cricket Club Championship Representative of the Year
They won the Premier League and represented us at Club Champs.  University of the Free State

Women’s Cricket Rookie of the Year
Her commitment and dedication put her shoulders above the rest in the province. All-rounder with quality batting, bowling and fielding. She is a promising future women’s Proteas player.  Anneke Bosch

Women’s Cricket Player of the Year
Played 8 matches for the Proteas since 2010.  Her career highlight was a match against England in 2011 at Pepsi ICC Cup. She dismissed England captain in a LBW for 17 runs.  She has been called up to represent SA in Abu Dabi against Pakistan in both ODI and T20 format.  Masabata Klaas

Senior Provincial Team Rookie of the Year
In the CSA Sunfoil 3-day competition scored 184 runs, average of 46 runs in his debut game against KZN.
In the CSA 50 Over he played a winning innings in his debut against KZN scoring 38 of 27 balls to get FS to 175/7 ultimately resulted making the final of this competition.  Leus du Plooy
Senior Provincial Team Most Improved Player of the Year
Scored 533 runs in CSA Sunfoil 3-day competition, at average of 41. Got past 50 in 5 out of the 13 innings he played. One of the most consistent performers of the season. In CSA T20 competition was best batsman scoring 97 in just 4 games average 32,33 and strike rate of 176.  Andries Gous

Senior Provincial Team Player of the Year
CSA Sunfoil 3-day competition scored 559 in just 7 innings, which included 2 hundreds and 3 fifties. Highest score of season 163 against Namibia. Ended 4th highest in SA. These performances rightfully earned him a place in the Knights team.  Michael Erlank

Presidential Award
The affiliate that changed the sub-union with
pro-active and innovative actions. Successfully held a golf day, sponsors obtained for development at Qwa-Qwa and in general looking after the wellbeing of Cricket in the East.  Dawie Botha